Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Confessions

I’m back! It’s been a little minute, hasn’t it? Life has been nuts lately, with me starting grad school a couple weeks ago, and Steven starting too, but hopefully I can find some time to keep coming back and checking in.

I’ll chime in with Broke and Bookish for Top Ten Tuesday: bookish confessions. I have no shame.

*I am a book snob. I truly am. I generally don’t talk about books to people who aren’t hard core into reading, other than maybe to give a recommendation or share my opinion about a book. And if someone isn’t a reader, I automatically assume we will pretty much have nothing in common. And, dont EVER say “it’s just a book!” to me.

*Most of my friends know that I strongly dislike Twilight, but what they don’t know is that I devoured the books- I read all 4 books in 3 days.

*I love YA so much, but I sometimes reprimand myself harshly if I have not read an adult book in over a couple months.

*My biggest fictional character crush is  Patch from the Hush, Hush series.  I also really like Daniel in My Name is Memory.

*I have times where I think I have read too much. It bothers me when I can’t specifically remember the way a book plays out if I’ve read it, even if it has been years; especially if it has only been a few months.

*I am so anal about the condition of my books. If I loan it to someone, it better come back in the same shape it was in. I try really hard to stay calm, but I think people are afraid of me when it comes to books.

*I used to have a nook, but I sold it after a year. e-books just don’t cut it for me, I need the real thing.

*I hate books with movie covers.

*I don’t leave my house without a book. 

*I have at least 30 books on my bookshelf that I have not read, but yet I compulsively go to the library. I just love the library.

*My mom read to me from before I was born until I was 14-15 years old, and I miss it. I will do the same for my child.

Do you share any of my confessions? 

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Confessions

  1. I love your last confession so much!! I don’t remember if my mom read much to me, but my oldest daughter loves reading and we read together constantly. I am trying to introduce her to the world of chapter books now. I am not anal about book condition. My books are worn out, but I completely respect other peoples’ wishes for their own books. That is why I do not borrow books from anyone anymore. I know if I get really into a book I have it pressed out flat on a table (ruining the perfect spine) while I read it and eat a bowl of cereal, which will inevitably splash onto the book. I bet you shuddered.

    Thank you for stopping by Reading It All.

    • That is awesome that you are sharing the love of books with your daughter. I know those were times I will always cherish with my mom.
      If I’ve got a used paper back, i’m less concerned with the condition. but my new hardbacks? definitely care about their condition. I usually only buy hardbacks for books I know I’ll love, like Nicholas Sparks, or the Harry Potter. I totally think books live their own lives and tale their own tales by their conditions, but I just can never bring myself to treat them casually. They are like treasures to me.
      Thank you for the comment, and for visiting my blog!! 🙂

  2. I am also a library addict with a bunch of unread books at home. There is something about free books with time limits on them that is much more magical than the ones I paid for and lost interest in!

  3. I am just the same with Twilight. I really do dislike it, but for reasons I can’t explained, I read it like a freak. I can’t believe you like Patch, though. I started Hush Hush today and I hate him. I HATE HIM. Maybe he’ll grow on me, though, we’ll see haha.

    Here’s Ours

  4. OMG! Movie covers!! I internally berate myself when I have only discovered it after the movie rights have been sold and then are splashed all over the book! I look, like a maniac, for an earlier edition of the book to read. There’s something in me that feels like I am reading a movie adaptation instead of the original story if the cover has already been switched!

  5. I am SO with you on ebooks!! Wish I loved them more because they’re so much easier to access, but I like flipping around to re-read parts way too much. And I can sympathize with the “don’t ever say ‘it’s just a book’ to me!'” too. It is never just a book.

    Great confessions–thanks for sharing, and for stopping by my blog!

  6. I hate books with movie covers too! I can be a complete snob about that. Also I never leave the house without a book of some variety (including Kindle). You just never know when you’ll have that long line at the post office, etc.

    Great list. Happy reading!

  7. I *know* people are afraid of me when it comes to books. People have admitted as much to me, and I admit, I am kind of fierce when it comes to protecting my books…

    And I hate movie covers, too. Ick.

  8. Love your list! I especially agree with #1. I can be nice to people who are not “readers” but I know we’re not going to be friends. If they don’t understand how a book can make me cry, they’re not going to understand me. 😉

Leave a comment